Days Filled With Mechanical Errors and Magnetic Fields

I’ve often said my last name should be Murphy because if something can go wrong in my life, it will. I realized recently I’ve spent most of my life trying to fix everything because something is always broken. This week has been no different lol. It really is the story of my life. Oh well, I’ve learned to work with it instead of against it. Just call me your neighborhood handywoman lol!

It started yesterday when my car broke down on the way to work. Remember, I was just saying how great it was running. Well, a local garage looked at my car and told me I needed the cam belt replaced right away as it was extremely frayed and if it broke, it would blow up the moter. They wanted $600 to fix it. I got a friend of a friend to do it for $100. The problem with that was it didn’t come back running like a charm anymore. Now it was barely running. What makes this whole story even worse is when the friend got the car apart, the belt was in perfect shape so none of this was even necessary which means they were just trying to rip me off. Arggggg!!

So here we are, on the way to work, and it died. I have roadside service with my auto insurance so made the call and sat back to wait. It took an hour and they couldn’t find the car even though they were across the street lol. I’m like, “Really??” lol. Finally found it, got the car hooked up and towed it to a place close by. $180 later and two new sensors and it was still having major issues. I could drive it as long as I didn’t stop but the minute I hit the brakes and the RPM went below 1, it died. It took an hour to get home last night as I left footed the brakes while putting the car in neutral and giving a little gas whenever I had to slow down and stop. I don’t know how people used to do that back in the ole days. To have different jobs for both my feet, both my hands and then making sure I didn’t roll into the car in front of me requires alot of concentration lol. I felt like I was learning to drive again as we jerked along until I got the hang of it all 🙂

This morning, I dropped it off in a public lot so the guy who replaced the belt could pick it up a little later. He spent the day going back over it all and found more sensors that had died out or not working properly. He’s so great because he said I don’t owe him anything. He just wanted to make sure my car ran good again. Tomorrow morning, he’ll drop it back off so I can pick it up. I figure I’ll give him some money anyway because he has a family and it’s Christmas. I’m just so happy it all worked out in the end run 🙂

With only 3 days left until Christmas, my work has died down so I’m caught up even though I was gone a week. I’ve got most of their systems up and running well so there’s not as much for me to do there anymore. I will get them through the change into 2012 and then things will be running smoothly for their entire fiscal year. It’s a good thing I’ve got extra time for awhile to work on with my websites Then school is coming up and I’m looking forward to my new classes. Then I’ll have to start looking for some new projects to bring money in because this job will naturally phase me out as we finish tweaking their new systems.

Being a Small Business Consultant has its’ perks and downfalls. I meet some really great people who become good friends as we grow their business. But as a consultant and if you do your job right, once the systems I create become the norm in a company, there’s really no use for me unless I want to work within my own system lol. My forte is taking unorganized and inefficient offices (which most small business have lol), working through the entire company, cleaning up what is valuable and changing what is not. I’m always still amazed at how many people ever managed to build a business in the first place so I have found there’s a huge need for my services 😉 But my joy in my work is from the creating and implementing not the using lol. That’s why I found this is a perfect career path for me!

As a consultant, I get flexibility in my scheduling which is a major perk. Downside is when they need you, they really need you so there’s a ton of hours at times to make major changes or attack large projects. At first, you spend time observing, learning the workings of everything AND everybody so they get used to you being around. Then you tackle the smaller issues so they can get used to some changes. Then you ramp it up as they start to see results and begin to follow your lead because they see it’s positive. Next, you tackle the toughest projects because they require a total team effort. By then, they can see you are there to help and they’ve begun to trust you. Now as a team, you roll up your sleeves and all work together to finish the job!

That’s the simple recipe for how I do my magic turning small inefficient businesses into mid-size lean and mean machines. I like to work with smaller businesses that are growing and can’t keep up with the changes. They have no choice but to use my services. Without me, they can never grow into anything more. Once I have them on the right path though, it’ll be time for me to go in search of the next quest to conquer! If business owners want to succeed and grow, they must always face the facts that change is going to be mandatory to make it happen!!

Right now, I’m not supposed to be thinking much about business or work. I’m just so happy my car is working again so I can join my family for the holidays. I have the cutest little Christmas dress for Ze to wear. I’ll have to take a photo of her and post it on Christmas day for all of you to see 🙂

As for all of you who are traveling this holiday season, be safe and have a wonderful trip! Have a great time with your family and friends!!

 

 

19 thoughts on “Days Filled With Mechanical Errors and Magnetic Fields

  1. Hi there, I discovered your site via Google at the same time as searching for a similar subject, your website came up, it seems to be great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Like

  2. Pretty component of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I¡¯ll be subscribing on your augment or even I success you get admission to persistently quickly.

    Like

  3. I like the valuable information you provide to your articles. I¡¯ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn many new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

    Like

  4. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually realize what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over with my site =). We will have a hyperlink alternate agreement among us!

    Like

  5. Hiya very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally¡­I’m glad to search out a lot of useful information right here within the submit, we’d like develop extra techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

  6. The subsequent time I learn a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I mean, I do know it was my choice to learn, however I truly thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could possibly fix for those who werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

    Like

  7. I precisely wanted to appreciate you yet again. I do not know the things I could possibly have taken care of without the actual information shared by you on my situation. It absolutely was the alarming scenario for me personally, nevertheless being able to see a new well-written avenue you solved it made me to jump for delight. Now i am grateful for the assistance and thus expect you comprehend what a great job that you are doing teaching many others through a web site. Most likely you have never got to know any of us.

    Like

Comments are closed.